RPG's

All discussions regarding Board, Card, and RPG Gaming, including industry discussion, that don't belong in one of the other gaming forums.

Moderators: The Preacher, $iljanus, Zaxxon

Punisher

RPG's

Post by Punisher »

I am thinking about starting to get my family into RPG's in the future (Right now, we have been having regular board gaming nights).
I currently have:
Star Wars RPG
Dungeons and Dragons Starter Set and
The End of the World-Zombie Apocalypse

Still going through all 3 at the moment to get a feel for them.

So, my questions.
Does anyone know of a better game system then the ones above for complete newbies to play? (Or if one of the above, let me know why) Basically, nobody in my family has ever played a pen and paper RPG before. I did play some in High School (Mostly Gamma World and Marvel Superheroes (which I think I still have somewhere.)), but everyone else playing is an RPG virgin. One of the players is 12 years old.
Going hand in hand with the above, I would need to also be able to GM the game pretty easily... I think I only GMED a few times in high School and all those were with pre-written campaigns..
All yourLightning Bolts are Belong to Us
Blackhawk

Re: RPG's

Post by Blackhawk »

Your names are a bit vague.
Punisher wrote: Star Wars RPG
I'm guessing this is the Edge of the Empire/Age of Rebellion game from Fantasy Flight. If so, it is a fantastic game, but probably not the best introduction to RPGs, as it requires a fair amount of improv to flow smoothly.
Punisher wrote: The End of the World-Zombie Apocalypse
This I have never heard of, but a quick check found two reviews, both of which compared it to FATE. That also wouldn't be the way to get people into gaming, especially with an inexperienced GM.
Punisher wrote: Dungeons and Dragons Starter Set