[Game idea] GMed hybrid game

This is the place for self-contained forum games

Moderator: Zaxxon

Finalgenesis

[Game idea] GMed hybrid game

Post by Finalgenesis »

I've recently dug up an old game idea going through my old laptop, and it seems to be a good fit for a forum game with some tweaking and filling out.
I'd like to see if anyone finds the ideas interesting enough to actually play it. Otherwise I'll put it back in hibernation.
Seeing as I'm a forum game noob (though I played all manners of role-playing in rl) I am almost certain there are nuances and unforeseen difficulties to running / playing a forum game I am unaware of. Advice / suggestions / questions are welcomed.

Content:
1. Setting
2. Very brief summary of the game idea
3. The public information for the 7 factions
4. A fictitious faction showing list of perks and powers

*5. Detailed Mechanics (to be added if there are interest and I work it into something readable)

Setting
In another time, another place, the Eternus Imperium which have dominated the Terminus galaxy for over 5 millenia have begun to crumble under burgeoning bureaucracy and infighting.
Meanwhile, the people of Grenar sector, on the fringe of the empire's territory, have seized the oppurtunity to fight off the yoke of the Imperium.
In response, the empire have send a task force to suppress the uprising, capturing the capital planet Toloranii Ka and constructing a formiddable star base to secure the sector.
The pirates have taken to the situation with glee, as gluttons to a feast…
The merchant guild schemes and maneuvers. There are risks and opportunities alike in strife…
And lurking in the dark, an unknown threat looms…

Summary
-The action happens on a grid-like board representing the Grenar sector. There are 5 planets, one in the middle being the capital and 4 other close to the edge on 4 corners.
-The game plays similarly to a board game in flow and complexity. (It was originally made with PBEM in mind)