"Throne of Darkness" -- Gah! I bought the wrong ga

If it's a video game it goes here.

Moderators: LawBeefaroni, Arcanis, $iljanus

Giles Habibula

"Throne of Darkness" -- Gah! I bought the wrong ga

Post by Giles Habibula »

I was at Big Lots this morning and saw one lone pristine and shrinkwrapped "Throne of Darkness" for $3.99. I remembered reading on the GG forums how everybody loved this game and that it was getting difficult to find, so I quickly snapped it up, feeling triumphant in my finding of treasure.

It wasn't until I got home and was going to put it away that I noticed another box on my bookshelf. "Blade of Darkness". Shit. Not only did I buy the wrong game, but it turns out I already had the one that I thought I was buying.

So...um....How is "Throne of Darkness"?
"I've been fighting with reality for over thirty-five years, and I'm happy to say that I finally won out over it." -- Elwood P. Dowd
B Dog

Post by B Dog »

If I remember correctly, it's a Samurai-themed Diablo-clone. I actually played the demo, thought there was some neat stuff in it (formations, special attacks, good atmosphere), and bought the game.

Got about 5 hours into it and hit the proverbial wall. It became extremely repetitive--in a bad way--and there was really no reason to keeping pushing on.

That said, I probably got 6 total hours of gaming goodness out of it, which makes it definitely worth the $3.99 you paid.
Beergut

Post by Beergut »

A game I tried hard to get into on several occasions and just couldn't.
Made by some former Blizzard employees who worked on the original Diablo (if memory serves...)
rrmorton

Re: "Throne of Darkness" -- Gah! I bought the wron

Post by rrmorton »

Giles Habibula wrote:It wasn't until I got home and was going to put it away that I noticed another box on my bookshelf. "Blade of Darkness". Shit. Not only did I buy the wrong game, but it turns out I already had the one that I thought I was buying.
Wow. That's funny. :D
jonsauce