Football Manager 2018--how bad is the learning curve?

If it's a video game it goes here.

Moderators: LawBeefaroni, Arcanis, $iljanus

Darkstar One

Football Manager 2018--how bad is the learning curve?

Post by Darkstar One »

Was wondering if anyone has any insight into how bad the learning curve is on this for someone who is a casual soccer fan.
mori

Re: Football Manager 2018--how bad is the learning curve?

Post by mori »

It can be as steep as you want it to be. I have been playing since FM 2010 and am still learning. I started as a casual soccer fan as well. It can also be incredibly easy if you pick a top team (I imagine Bayern Munich, or Manchester City would be a good FM 18 choices), download a plug & play tactic that fits your squad, and just let the game do its thing. Then its just a HR sim trying to keep your players happy, healthy, and motivated. After a few hours, and a few restarts, you will have the basic hang of it. Older versions of FM use to have tutorials that would teach you the basics but they did away with that and now you only get an online manual.
Godzilla Blitz

Post by Godzilla Blitz »

Starting with a top team is one way to do it, but starting with a lower league team is definitely another way, and in some ways I'd argue it's easier.

The tactics are much simpler and more forgiving down low. You can get pretty far in many cases with a basic 4-4-2 formation.

Honestly, I think mindset is the key thing. When I first tried to play, I was overwhelmed with trying to understand everything and was afraid of making mistakes. It can be paralyzing, and you can spend hours trying to figure stuff out before ever getting to your first game.