Page 8 of 8

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:27 pm
by Isgrimnur
Now I want NTSB Simulator.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:35 pm
by Paradroid
Heh. If there's an NTSB in MSFS they must be offering a lot of overtime!

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:36 pm
by Isgrimnur
Polygon , Sept 3

Enlarge Image

But I want the numbers on the less-positive events.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:20 pm
by Paradroid
Another bug that gets on my tits. If you do a proper shutdown instead of just quitting when you get the end flight screen, the game counts it as another flight. So every other flight in my logbook is 2-3 minutes with no takeoff or landing. It really spoils it.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:28 am
by UsulofDoom
Any discounts coming up for it?

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:08 am
by gbasden
Not likely for awhile - it just launched.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:56 pm
by malchior
Major patch just dropped - 15 GB

They claim fixes for some of the issues we've been talking about - wind being a big one - I've been crashing about 25% to desktop on approaches into CPU-intensive airports so hopefully that is fixed.

(partial list below - full list here - it's long!):

Microsoft Flight Simulator Build 1.8.3.0 Changelog

PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT
Optimized cockpit screen display when screens are not displayed on screen.
New option available to control cockpit screen update frequency.
Tweaked CPU thread priorities to reduce interruption of frame critical threads.
Optimized loading system to reduce overall loading times.
Optimized heavy airport scenes impact on CPU.
Reduced the amount of GPU overdraw to improve GPU performance.
Memory optimizations to reduce software memory footprint and improve performance on memory limited computers.
Overall performance optimizations.


ATC
Incoming ATC Azure speech has now three different voices.
ATC voice gender is now based on the avatar of the pilot/copilot.
Fix for the incorrect voice pack being used if the game is not localized in English and if the Windows Offline Text-to-Speech option is used.


UI
Filters and sorting have been improved in the marketplace.
Manual cache layout has been improved and the download estimated time should now be correct.
Improved support for gamepad navigation in many menus.
Case sensitive search is now working properly in control screen.
Search by axis in control screen has been fixed.
Active pause button has been added in the toolbar.
Pause button has been fixed in the Content manager.


AERODYNAMICS
Improved wind turbulence simulation to reduce horizontal turbulences.
Added simulation of low rpm piston engine vibrations on cockpit.
Added simulation of water particles (rain/clouds) density in aerodynamics => generates vibrations flying through clouds or rain.
Fixed wet surface friction and braking distances.
Fixed live weather wind offset in higher latitude areas (America, Asia…) that was causing the 3kts Wind bug.

GENERAL AVIATION AVIONICS
GNS 530 : flight plan display alignment has been fixed on the Garmin GNS 530.
G1000 : automatically switches from NAV to LOC when needed.
G1000 : ETE and ETA fixed wrong values.
G1000/3000/3x : AP setup is no longer reset when enabling AP.
G1000/3000/3x : fixed missing flight plan when the selected departure is coordinates on the world map.
G3x : text size in « approach box » has been increased.
G3x : approaches can now be selected and loaded.
G3x : fixed bad information in nearest VOR page when unknown VOR is selected.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:06 pm
by malchior
Fun times. They completely broke the A320. You can't cold start it anymore. The power switches don't consistently work. You can't enter the flight plan at all meaning you can't enter the FROM/TO. It's dead, Jim. Their QA is pure garbage. They really botched this "patch".

Edit: Now there are reports the 787 APU and G1000 in the 172 don't work either. I think that'll mean all G1000s are broken since they use one model.

Edit 2: You literally can't fly the A320 off the runway. Full power and it starts turning left on its own. Steering goes away. This is a shambles now.

Edit 3: Engine 1 is broken. It spools down on its own which is why I was turning left. Runway starts work just fine. "Tested by pilots". :D

Edit 4: Multiple stock airplanes now have MFDs going black randomly. Had it happen to me on the A320. Happens on the 172. These are issues that are obvious. Looks like I'm putting this down for a little until they get their act together. I've been trying to work around all these issues and when I do another one pops up. :grund:

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:05 pm
by Fretmute
I tried to do the landing challenge just now. Approach was reasonable, speed was good, all aligned, I got this!
MS Flight Sim 2020 wrote:You failed to deploy landing gear.
OK, so I forgot one step.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:10 pm
by malchior
So having been following the forums - this patch really did a number on several functions - I don't know if you can skip the patch but I'd highly, highly recommend it. It's abysmal. I tried working around issues and have finally given up. The MFDs blanking is the brightness knob just randomly changing itself. The A320 is broken as mentioned earlier unless you do a runway start.

I managed to work around some of the issues enough to do a short flight and the ATC isn't vectoring into airports properly again. They claimed to make fixes to the autopilot but the auto land on the A320 seems to be much worse. It kept falling off the glide slope and I'd have to click 'Appr' mode off and on to get it to lock in again. They added a button for active pause and it's hilariously not right. The best way to describe the icon for active pause is it is the 'comic sans' of icons. It just looks unprofessional. Like an intern did it. The whole thing is a total mess.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:06 am
by Paradroid
malchior wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:10 pm
I don't know if you can skip the patch but I'd highly, highly recommend it.
Unfortunately you can't, and as has been spotted by many people by now, it was a fucking nightmare to download and install unless you were connected to US servers. Which I wasn't. It had to download a handful of 1.5GB files but the connection kept dropping, and every time the connection dropped the file would inexplicably delete itself, causing a near-infinite loop that used ridiculous amounts of my bandwidth.

So, I didn't actually get to play last night. Meanwhile, members of my VA are reporting exactly the same issues you are. What a godawful clusterfuck. I might shelve this game entirely until at least the next patch.

I can't say I wasn't warned: it says Microsoft right there in the title. Utterly incompetent company.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:29 am
by Paradroid
Well, I had to see for myself.

(Actually you can enter a full flight plan in the A320 including SID/STAR, I just did it myself)

Cold and dark starting of the A320 is just broken. As soon as you disable the APU, engine 1 dies and will not restart no matter what you do. Not only is this laughably broken, not only is it completely immersion-breaking because you're forced to use runway starts, but also it means I can't fly it for my VA because their tracker only starts recording flights from cold and dark. Not to mention it means I won't be able to play on VATSIM or IVAO.

If this bug happens for everyone who uses the A320, then clearly Asobo didn't even bother to perform one single test flight before pushing the patch. Totally inexcusable.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 7:06 am
by malchior
The A320 battery problem is the weirdest one too. It only happens on certain gates and ramps. I posted this in a steam thread because you sort of have to laugh at this level of incompetence.

Issue: Battery buttons not working. It is intermittent on some ramps/gates.

Workaround: Try a different gate/ramp at the airport.
Cause: Some of the ramps have disgruntled ground crew sabotaging planes! Confuse them by teleporting away

Issue: Blank MFDs

Workaround: turn up the brightness knob for the display.
Cause: A ghost is with you and randomly changes it to keep you on your toes.

Issue: Mach/Speed button doesn't work. Switches to Mach at high-altitude and never switches back!

Workaround: None. Good luck setting your approach speed.
Cause: Gremlins

Issue: Engine 1 Shutdown on Cold Start

Workaround 1:
Leave the APU on

Workaround 2: Some people say that turning on the x-feed and turning off the left pump on start up fixes that.

Cause: Covid-19

Issue: AP won't autoland consistently

Workaround: Fly the plane!
Cause: Asobo programmers hate QA work.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:09 am
by malchior
I just confirmed the weird left tank pump thing seems to work.

Start up engine as normal. Just prior to shutting down APU, turn on the X FEED. Then L TK PUMP 1 to Off. Shut down APU.

A new problem I noticed that is annoying but could cause a crash in certain circumstance is that the Fly-By-Wire gets weird on assent. I couldn't maintain climb to 1500. I couldn't nose up all of a sudden and got into a negative climb rate at 800!. I even tried trimming all the way and turned on the AP. That worked ok. However, then the AP failed to throttle up at 1500 for a good 15 seconds and then went full on mental into Climb. It accelerated well past 250 and wouldn't slow down even if I set a slower speed. That was a single instance so I don't know if that'll be a repeat behavior yet. This feels broken but at least the winds are working (on your first flight - people say it breaks on 2nd flight). :)

Edit: So I figured Airliners are broken. LOA from the virtual airline. I'll go on a Bush Trip! Did the first trip. Landed nicely...and didn't record the leg. Hmm..maybe I'm in the wrong spot? Well it's post-mega patch day. Let me check the forum. Oops. People are reporting that Bush Trips aren't working. *Sigh*. So I looked further and the root cause appears to be they broke the log book. That seems impossible.

Anyway, I went back and checked the test flights. Yep all broken. They aren't recording the Takeoff and Landing. You can't even use this thing for GA. A very, very basic function is wrecked*. I'm done with this thing for now. How do you not notice that the log books aren't being updated properly?!? This is the most ludicrous "patch" for a product I've seen in years.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:50 am
by Blackhawk
The weird thing is that they claim to have fixed a bunch of things in the A320, but somehow not a single tester actually took off in one.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:56 am
by malchior
Blackhawk wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:50 am
The weird thing is that they claim to have fixed a bunch of things in the A320, but somehow not a single tester actually took off in one.
My hunch is that they don't test the complete patch in total. The devs tested their functions individually and then just rolled it into one big buggy mess and shoved it out the door like how the release and first patch went. The release was buggy. The 1st patch fixed things and broke other thing but not badly. The 2nd patch is unacceptably bad. It breaks basic functionality required. You can't use this with Vatsim for instance because the simulator isn't reporting takeoff and landing apparently.

I am hoping some websites/blogs pick this up and run with it because MS needs to get hit in the nose on this to maybe prompt them to clean up their act. No patch at all was better than this shit show.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:30 am
by Paradroid
malchior wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:56 am
I am hoping some websites/blogs pick this up and run with it because MS needs to get hit in the nose on this to maybe prompt them to clean up their act. No patch at all was better than this shit show.
Quoted for truth (man, it's been a long time since I said that)!

It's so bad I'm going back to XP11 for now, until/if Asobo get their shit together. MSFS is a mess.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:37 pm
by malchior
About the Bush Trips...they work as long as you've never started one pre-patch. Otherwise, you need to blow it away and start over for landings to be recognized post-patch. In other words, they broke saves on Bush trips. I have 80% of Balkans done...so that's a strong no. If you like to fly around without a proper log book in GA planes...you're mostly ok as long as they don't have glass cockpits. So about 80% of the functionality was broken by this patch. :lol:

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:12 pm
by Paradroid
A friend just told me that the Longitude doesn't have reversers any more. This patch is so incredibly bad it actually looks like internal sabotage.

I'm playing XP11 right now. Can't imagine when I'll go back to MSFS.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:58 pm
by malchior
Paradroid wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:12 pm
A friend just told me that the Longitude doesn't have reversers any more. This patch is so incredibly bad it actually looks like internal sabotage.

I'm playing XP11 right now. Can't imagine when I'll go back to MSFS.
I'm in my backlog. No need to fly for awhile. I can't go back to lesser platforms now. I'll just be patient and wait for payware or for them or some modder to fix it. It blows my mind still that they went from buggy but mostly usable to completely broken and not a word from Asobo/Microsoft. I'm really not impressed with them right now.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:05 pm
by malchior
I just got this from one of the Discord channels - Asobo updated the issue tracker.
Currently, if you start the A320 Neo cold and dark, the engine unexpectedly shuts down after starting up aircraft following checklist

We are looking into this issue and hope to have a fix in the next patch. The workaround: Leave the APU on; or, load in on the runway.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:45 pm
by Paradroid
malchior wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:58 pm
I can't go back to lesser platforms now.
It's hard to admit, but you're right. I did a flight in XP11 this evening and was severely disheartened by how lifeless and sterile it was by comparison. MSFS doesn't just have the graphics. The ATC is a lot more interactive (if psychopathic), and I love flying among all those other players.

Sigh. I guess I'll try the A320 with that workaround and see if it's enjoyable.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:51 pm
by Paradroid
I've been flying the A320 which works "fine" as long as you fight every instinct in your body to switch the APU off after engine start! I've found that the airliners in general are not very good at flying the glideslope in APPR mode now though.

One bit of good news. Someone managed to sneak a fix in amongst all the sabotage: FL CHG mode in the 747 actually works properly now! You can actually descend using autopilot!

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 6:35 pm
by Paradroid
So I needed one more flight to get me to the next rank for my VA. For nostalgia's sake I decided to go back to the good old Cessna 208B in New Zealand. The route was Queenstown to Mount Cook. It looked like it would be another one of those low level, fly around the corner just before landing kind of approaches. Great fun!

When I loaded in I was in the middle of a storm. 70 knots crosswind, I kid you not. Just barely clearing the nearest mountain as I struggled to gain altitude, arriving at 11,000ft I began to relax a bit, but I didn't take my eyes off the PFD; the autopilot was really struggling to maintain control and having to fly about 30 degrees off bearing just to maintain course. Presumably in real life the flight wouldn't have even departed. On a whim I checked the real world weather for New Zealand - nice and calm. So much for live weather!

It got so bad I eventually diverted 10nm off my flight plan just to find some clearer skies. I emerged from the roiling clouds over a lake and eagerly descended to 5,000ft. Mount Cook has an elevation of just over 2,000ft and it looked like more or less clear skies all the way, so feeling much better now, I turned toward the airport. With about 10nm to go I began scanning to catch sight of the runway, when suddenly it happened. I bet you can guess what happened?

Yep - the fucking game crashed. Five minutes from touchdown, as always. Asobo needs to fix this pile of shit!

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:25 pm
by Paradroid
OK I'm done with this game for a few patches. So sick of the bugs, especially the ones that ruin a two hour flight. I'd go as far as to call the game unplayable to be honest.

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:13 pm
by UsulofDoom
Paradroid wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:25 pm
OK I'm done with this game for a few patches. So sick of the bugs, especially the ones that ruin a two hour flight. I'd go as far as to call the game unplayable to be honest.
I'm assuming there are no saves in the game? Are they planning on putting that in? Also what's the best forum to read up on it?

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 10:55 pm
by malchior
UsulofDoom wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:13 pm
Paradroid wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:25 pm
OK I'm done with this game for a few patches. So sick of the bugs, especially the ones that ruin a two hour flight. I'd go as far as to call the game unplayable to be honest.
I'm assuming there are no saves in the game? Are they planning on putting that in? Also what's the best forum to read up on it?
You can save but it isn't organic and it isn't reliable on loading yet. The microsoft forum is reasonably good.

https://forums.flightsimulator.com/

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 4:54 am
by Paradroid
So I thought I'd try one more time, this time with the 747, just to see. It means I wouldn't be clocking up any hours for the VA, but just being able to play at all is more important of course.

It was a total disaster. Firstly, there's a theory floating around that setting AI aircraft to generic will ameliorate some of the "ghost cockpit" issues, so I set that, and started my flight.

In fairness, I didn't have any ghost cockpit issues. But ATC was constantly telling generic this and generic that to change altitudes. Like, all the time. I had to tune it out before I went mad.

The autopilot was kind of working - to begin with. I struggled to gain altitude but did finally make my cruising altitude. But as soon as I entered the STAR phase of my flight plan all hell broke loose. The autopilot just went utterly bananas. I tried to get it to descend, and it did to begin with. But it plummeted straight through the altitude I'd commanded and continued to drop. No combination of altitude and thrust settings seemed to have any effect, so I disconnected it and manually brought the plane back up to altitude.

I activated autopilot again, and as long as I wanted to fly straight and level it was fine. But of course, I was in the STAR so before long I had to descend again. This time, during a supposed descent phase, all the autopilot wanted to do was pitch the nose up by 30+ degrees. It wasn't long before we approached stall speed so I had to take over again. This happened two or three times before I gave up.

In the end I had to hand fly the last 50nm of the flight, which isn't much fun in an airliner. Oh, and right in the middle of a raging storm, of course. All this week I've been in the middle of a massive storm no matter where I fly, which is definitely not right. I still landed the bugger though, which was the only joy I had in the entire flight. Not really on the centreline, but nice and smooth, in 30+ knots of crosswind. I was quite proud of that! I think the ground effect is massively exaggerated in this game; I was crabbing to counteract the crosswind but when I got to around 100-200ft above ground the wind just instantly stopped having any effect, which is why I moved adrift of the centreline.

This game is just B R O K E N. Fundamentally, completely broken. I am not happy.