Fundraising complete, next renewal is August 2022. Paypal Donation Links US dollars CDN Dollars

MS Flight Simulator 2020

If it's a video game it goes here.

Moderators: LawBeefaroni, Arcanis, $iljanus

Post Reply
malchior
Posts: 13368
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by malchior »

I had mentioned earlier that I thought there was a bug with reverse thrusters crashing the plane. Nope - it is a bug some people have started complaining about that fills the runway with what might be rendering errors. They'll look like 'cracks'. If the runway looks like that...it is impossible to land on it. It's broken. Sometimes they'll bounce you 100 ft into the error. Sometimes you'll flip face forward into the concrete. Since I became aware of it I've managed it by applying TOGA when they appear (only appear when you are ~200-300 ft. from touchdown) and going around. Usually this fixed it for me.

But today I hit max absurdity with this pile of shit. Coming into KMSP on 30L. Cracks appear about 100 Ft. TOGA. Line up again on 30L still bad. TOGA. 30R. Broken. TOGA. 35. Broken. TOGA. Let's try 7 for kicks. Broken. Fuck it. I'm done. Land it. Plane flips onto nose. Fucking hell. This thing has the dumbest bugs ever. When it's good this thing is great but when its bad it is aggravating bad.

Thread on this bug on the MSFS forum.
User avatar
Paradroid
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:15 am
Location: UK

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by Paradroid »

Yeah, I've worked so many workarounds into my normal play that I can't even remember a lot of the bugs that remain. Using the A320NX mod alleviates a lot of issues and makes the game fun again, but the CTDs remain. I can't remember the last time I completed a flight in the 747, which pisses me off because it's my favourite in the game.

Besides the CTDs, it's death by a thousand cuts really. There are little issues with practically everything. Just off the top of my head:
  • ATC handing me off to other controllers three times in as many minutes
  • flight director giving completely wrong pitch attitudes
  • loss of elevator control when disconnecting autopilot
  • aircraft becomes really unstable on approach
  • autopilot sometimes ignoring STARs
  • almost impossible to enter flight plans by hand on the main menu
...and so on. The problem is, this is the best we've got. It's going to be at least a year before the payware airliners are released and the game is patched to a good state. Oh well. It's playable...some of the time.
The pro gamer formerly known as Huw the Poo
malchior
Posts: 13368
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by malchior »

Paradroid wrote: Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:29 pm [*]autopilot sometimes ignoring STARs
This kills me but I have a stable workaround. Now that Navigraph charts are working well I just put the overlay up and switch over to manual headings and just fly the star when it happens. I'd say 25% of the time.
[*]almost impossible to enter flight plans by hand on the main menu
This actually works better with the Navigraph data fwiw.
User avatar
Isgrimnur
Posts: 67569
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Chookity pok
Contact:
Isgrimnur’s avatar
Loading…

MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by Isgrimnur »

malchior wrote: Sometimes they'll bounce you 100 ft into the error.

:lol:
Black lives matter
malchior
Posts: 13368
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by malchior »

Isgrimnur wrote: Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:49 pm
malchior wrote: Sometimes they'll bounce you 100 ft into the error.

:lol:
Holy malfunction. Need to QA my quick typos.
User avatar
Hrdina
Posts: 2469
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Warren Cromartie Secondary School
[GWJ] Hrdina’s avatar
Loading…

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by Hrdina »

RunningMn9 wrote: Sat Oct 10, 2020 1:54 pm Take off from Morristown airport and find my car in the parking lot of the army installation I work at? Check. Fly over my neighborhood? Check. Fly around interesting places in the world? Check.
You must work up at Picatinny then? I actually interviewed up there quite some time ago (early 2000s). I ended up taking a different job in the same industry; I'm still there.

I also live right down the highway from Morristown MMU. One of the first flights I took in MSFS 2020 was from MMU to Teterboro, passing over both my house and my worksite on the same flight. :D

From there I've started a cross-country tour in small hops, since I usually only have an hour or so to fly on any given night. I've worked my way westward through PA to Pittsburgh, then along the Ohio River through WV, Ohio, and Kentucky, up through Indiana & Illinois to the Mississippi river then north to Minneapolis.
Conform or be cast out!
User avatar
RunningMn9
Posts: 23391
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:55 pm
Location: The Sword Coast
Contact:

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by RunningMn9 »

I’m probably not supposed to answer that, but it is the nearest base to Morristown that will have my car in the parking lot. :)
And in banks across the world
Christians, Moslems, Hindus, Jews
And every other race, creed, colour, tint or hue
Get down on their knees and pray
The raccoon and the groundhog neatly
Make up bags of change
But the monkey in the corner
Well he's slowly drifting out of range
malchior
Posts: 13368
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by malchior »

Hrdina wrote: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:51 pmI also live right down the highway from Morristown MMU. One of the first flights I took in MSFS 2020 was from MMU to Teterboro, passing over both my house and my worksite on the same flight. :D
I usually fly out of KTEB or sometimes KSMQ (Somerville) or 3N6 (Old Bridge). MMU is great for jets. It always feels silly to fly a DA40 or Cessna out of there. :)
From there I've started a cross-country tour in small hops, since I usually only have an hour or so to fly on any given night. I've worked my way westward through PA to Pittsburgh, then along the Ohio River through WV, Ohio, and Kentucky, up through Indiana & Illinois to the Mississippi river then north to Minneapolis.
I am about to do that. I've been focused on virtual airline in the A320 but I've been playing with GA now that there are less crashes. I was suffering far more CTDs with GA than jet airplanes since 1.8.5.0. I think it had something to do with the rolling cache loading detailed maps. That is getting more stable now.

Edit: In a sign how crazy I've been getting in my pandemic mancave. I'm making sure I'm flying into airports where I know they sell the gas the plane uses. :)

That said, I finally got an order in for the Thrustmaster TFRP system at a reasonable price. I'll have it Thursday. That will change the 'game' in a big way. Braking with one button and twist rudder has been less than ideal.
User avatar
Hrdina
Posts: 2469
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Warren Cromartie Secondary School
[GWJ] Hrdina’s avatar
Loading…

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by Hrdina »

malchior wrote: Mon Oct 26, 2020 4:10 pmI usually fly out of KTEB or sometimes KSMQ (Somerville) or 3N6 (Old Bridge). MMU is great for jets. It always feels silly to fly a DA40 or Cessna out of there. :)
Back when we used to be able to go out for lunch, I used to take my kids to eat at a couple of different places on Columbia Turnpike, which runs right past the end of Runway 5 at MMU. I also flew out of MMU once on my company's bizjet. We were able to see out the front of the aircraft during the flight, which was pretty cool given the steep angle the pilot took at times. :D

I've been to SMQ in person, although for small airports in this area I prefer Solberg (N51) or Sky Manor (N40).
malchior wrote: Mon Oct 26, 2020 4:10 pmI am about to do that. I've been focused on virtual airline in the A320 but I've been playing with GA now that there are less crashes. I was suffering far more CTDs with GA than jet airplanes since 1.8.5.0. I think it had something to do with the rolling cache loading detailed maps. That is getting more stable now.
I've had a few CTD problems, but not much lately (knock wood). I think the DA62 is the largest aircraft I've flown so far.
malchior wrote: Mon Oct 26, 2020 4:10 pmThat said, I finally got an order in for the Thrustmaster TFRP system at a reasonable price. I'll have it Thursday. That will change the 'game' in a big way. Braking with one button and twist rudder has been less than ideal.
Nice, from what I've heard you're lucky to get a set that quickly.

I've been using my very old CH Products stuff, which works (mostly). The toe brakes on the rudder pedals don't work, and I'm too lazy/worried to open the thing up to try to fix them, so just use a pair of buttons on my yoke for L/R brakes. I've never liked the idea of twist rudders. I'll probably upgrade my PC before I drop more cash on new HOTAS gear, although seeing the fancy TM pendular pedals that some FS youtubers received made me think dangerous thoughts. :D
Conform or be cast out!
malchior
Posts: 13368
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by malchior »

8 GB update released today. Let's see how much damage it does!

Well the A32NX mode is in bad shape after the update - this is expected since Asobo basically just smashes everything on updates. In good news though the Head of Flight Sim at MS Jorg Neumann asked FlyByWire to email them during the monthly product Twitch stream. They are really impressed with the work they are doing. Hopefully they'll figure out a way to coordinate in the future so that the mandatory patch doesn't make the plane un-fucking-usable every single time.
Known bugs:

MCDU not working
PFD not working
upper ECAM
switches animation missing when clicking
Radio Panel
ADIRS Not open
APU Start
Edit: Custom liveries are trashed. They really need to make patching optional until they get their shit together.
User avatar
Paradroid
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:15 am
Location: UK

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by Paradroid »

Yeah the A32NX is totally fucked, haha. I'm sure it'll be working by this time tomorrow. But for tonight's flight it looks like I'm going to have to use the....stock 747! :shock:

In other news, I finally managed to download the patch on the first attempt. I had to download a trial copy of a program called NetLimiter which allows per-application bandwidth throttling. Yes you read that correctly - I have to deliberately throttle MSFS bandwidth in order to patch it. Only Microsoft... :roll:
The pro gamer formerly known as Huw the Poo
User avatar
Paradroid
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:15 am
Location: UK

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by Paradroid »

Paradroid wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 6:47 pm But for tonight's flight it looks like I'm going to have to use the....stock 747! :shock:
...and it took all of ten minutes to realise how absolutely broken the 747 still is. I was simply trying to ascend to FL210, that's all. The autopilot just couldn't do it. After reaching around FL160 it just lost it, and couldn't continue to ascend. I used all possible combinations of VS and FL CHG and nothing worked, it didn't even come close to a positive rate of climb. Unbelievable.

In better news, apparently the FlyByWire team have fixed virtually all of the issues today's patch introduced to the A320NX already. I reckon the next dev build will be released within the next couple of hours.
The pro gamer formerly known as Huw the Poo
malchior
Posts: 13368
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: MS Flight Simulator 2020

Post by malchior »

Paradroid wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 7:51 pm
Paradroid wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 6:47 pm But for tonight's flight it looks like I'm going to have to use the....stock 747! :shock:
...and it took all of ten minutes to realise how absolutely broken the 747 still is. I was simply trying to ascend to FL210, that's all. The autopilot just couldn't do it. After reaching around FL160 it just lost it, and couldn't continue to ascend. I used all possible combinations of VS and FL CHG and nothing worked, it didn't even come close to a positive rate of climb. Unbelievable.

In better news, apparently the FlyByWire team have fixed virtually all of the issues today's patch introduced to the A320NX already. I reckon the next dev build will be released within the next couple of hours.
I've been monitoring the Discord chatter. They haven't outright said it but my impression is that under the covers is an absolute mess. The Asobo team just keeps changing basic things like folder structures and manifest locations. My interpretation of that is that there is no way a stable SDK is around the corner for payware.

I am flying now in a DA62 - I am curious if they have fixed the dumbest bug...the ATC speech synthesis says 'OH-EN-EE' for One sometimes. For awhile, I thought I was having a stroke until I googled it. Apparently, this was a bug in Alpha that came back in 1.8.5.0 or so. I don't think I've seen software development this haphazard in a live game before. I guess this was what living through the launch of Fallout 76 was like. :)
Post Reply