Fundraising complete, next renewal is August 2022. Paypal Donation Links US dollars CDN Dollars

Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel 3

If it's a video game it goes here.

Moderators: LawBeefaroni, Arcanis, $iljanus

Scraper

Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel 3

Post by Scraper »

I just started playing Trails of Cold Steel 3 over the weekend. Parts 1 and 2 are both excellent games and shouldn't be missed by anyone who likes JRPGs. Part 3 picks up a couple of months after the end of Part 2. If you played parts 1 or 2 then you will know what to expect with Part 3 as they haven't messed with a winning formula at all. They did of course add some new combat systems in to keep things fresh.

Here's some early impressions:

1. This one starts out much slower than part 2, it took me about 4 hours of gameplay before I hit an open area to explore.
2. The main character is about 3 or 4 years older than when the series started and he's still a great main character.
3. The amount of characters in this series is almost as big as the Game of Thrones series.
4. Even though I completed Part 2 less than a year ago I still forgot about half of the things they flash back to. BUT the game does give you a tab where you can go back read about events from parts 1 and 2.
5. The graphics have been upgraded a bit since the PS4 port of part 2, but it's still running on an engine that was designed for the Vita and PS3.
6. Even though the battle system is largely the same it is as good as ever and somehow hasn't become stale after 2 100 hour games.
FTE

Scraper

Re: Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel 3

Post by Scraper »

Some other quick notes:

It's cool that they included a "Turbo" mode that you can turn on and off with just one button. Basically it speeds the entire game up and goes about 4x as fast. So if you are an impatient player it literally speeds everything up.