Oddly Unfulfilled...

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

godhugh
Forum Admin

Oddly Unfulfilled...

Post by godhugh »

I just started a new job a month ago and I'm finding myself unfulfilled. I worked as a Helpdesk Supervisor at my old company and my new job is pretty much the same, but on steroids. More projects, more client interaction, more responsibility. Before I started, it really seemed like the job I'd been hoping to get for a long time.

So far though, while it's exactly as advertised, I just dont....well...like it. I'm starting to think the management, project manager route is just not for me.

Normally, I would just start looking for something else to do. However, it's not that easy. My wife and I are trying to get pregnant, we're looking to move into a house in the next few months, and we just got a new car. So I have to maintain the same salary level I have now (40k a year).

I'd like to do something in either the medical field or in politics, but I don't know where to start or whether I can make as much as I need too.

Any suggestions?
To my Wife:

"Life's only life with you in this song" -Whistles the Wind, Flogging Molly

Not to my Wife:

- "When someone smiles at me, all I see is a chimpanzee begging for his life."
Dirt

Post by Dirt »

Politics doesn't pay well.
godhugh
Forum Admin

Post by godhugh »

Yeah, I figured as much. It's kind of a pipe dream, but hey, what are you gonna do ;).

I'm really open to any kind of career change. I'm just more and more certain that management (especially in IT) just isn't what I want to do.
To my Wife:

"Life's only life with you in this song" -Whistles the Wind, Flogging Molly

Not to my Wife:

- "When someone smiles at me, all I see is a chimpanzee begging for his life."
Ralph-Wiggum

Post by Ralph-Wiggum »

Dirt wrote:Politics doesn't pay well.
If you're corrupt, it does..... :wink:
Dirt

Post by Dirt »

Do you have a degree in IS?
Tareeq

Post by Tareeq »