music magazines

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

freelunch

music magazines

Post by freelunch »

I read RollingStone through most of the eighties but it eventually ceased to excite me and I let my subscription lapse.

I read Q through most of the nineties but it eventually ceased to excite me and I let my subscription lapse.

I'm on the lookout again for a music-related magazine - something with decent reviews, coverage of of books and film would be a non-essential bonus. I took out a subscription to Paste a few months ago and I'm fairly happy with it - are there any others I should consider?
Books I finished in: 2022 | 2021 | 2020

Scrobbling at last.fm
Giles Habibula

Post by Giles Habibula »

I have absolutely no idea if it's even still around, but 20 years ago, I was hooked on "Stereo Review". Had lots of record reviews and musical equipment reviews.
"I've been fighting with reality for over thirty-five years, and I'm happy to say that I finally won out over it." -- Elwood P. Dowd
hitbyambulance

Post by hitbyambulance »

my reccs: Wire, Magnet and arthur (which is more of a newspaper)
rrmorton

Post by rrmorton »

Triggercut turned me on to the best music magazine I've ever read, and that would be MOJO! It's not cheap to subscribe but it's worth every penny. Highly recommended!

http://www.mojo4music.com/
Captain Caveman

Post by Captain Caveman »

If you like Paste, you should look into Harp and No Depression
freelunch

Post by freelunch »

I remember receiveing a couple of issues of Mojo ten years ago when my Q subscription got messed up. it didn't do much for me at the time but my taste has changed since then - unfortunately at AU$20 per issue to subscribe it would mean I'd have to give up one new album per month to read it :(

need to find a special offer coupon methinks...

Scrobbling at last.fm
Captain Caveman

Post by Captain Caveman »

Another really good mag out of the UK is Uncut.
freelunch

Post by freelunch »