The joys of working in education

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

Madmarcus

The joys of working in education

Post by Madmarcus »

I love both my job and my profession but sometimes I need to vent.

As a secondary science teacher I have to be evaluated on pre- and post- tests created by the state. A new change means I need to be evaluated on such tests in two different classes. However I teach three preps all of which are AP. One prep is fairly common. The other two do not have a state test. So I have 3 days to write a MC test that will be used as my evaluation (and basically only my own evaluation).

Due to the way the evaluation works I have to write a test that the students will fail miserably now (with the side note that we’ve been in school for 3 weeks) yet will pass with flying colors in May. As in I really need to get +60% improvement.

Of course I hate the type of vocabulary questions that they really screams for. There are good questions I could ask but finding them and phrasing them in such a 0% to 100% manner in 3 days is not going to be fun. For that matter the specter of being accused of giving the students answers is ever present as I’m going to have to dig into my question banks to find useful stuff.
Isgrimnur

Re: The joys of working in education

Post by Isgrimnur »

Nothing like testing kids on stuff they haven't been taught yet so they can show dramatic improvement after you've taught it to them.

You have my sympathies.
It's almost as if people are the problem.
Trent Steel

Post by Trent Steel »

It's awful for everyone involved... students, teachers, administrators, parents.

But great if you're making money off it.
18-1™ & 2-0
LordMortis

Post by LordMortis »

[img]1.bp.blogspot.com/_hA8afXystbU/TT7vsBU8QHI/AAAAAAAACX8/v64ui38QtEA/s1600/trial.gif[/img]