Sure, but once you allow exceptions, the existence of the main rule isn't really a justification for having or not having any particular exception to the main rule. E.g., "you usually have to have the ball to get an out" is not really a logical reason to allow the runner to run to first base on a dropped third strike when you sometimes allow outs without the ball in possession.ImLawBoy wrote: ↑Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:31 amRules are allowed to have exceptions. Kind of like a foul ball on strike two is not strike three, except for bunt attempts.El Guapo wrote: ↑Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:26 amAnyway, the point is that you can have outs without the ball in the defensive team's possession (e.g., one runner passes another). And if that's the case, then that's not really a reason to have the dropped third strike rule.ImLawBoy wrote: ↑Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:18 amYes, and I corrected it my response to you. I should have originally said "must be made with the ball in your possession." Believe it or not, I don't always triple check my posts for absolute clarity before posting them. Purple monkey dishwasher.El Guapo wrote: ↑Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:15 amLook. you said "must be made with the ball in a glove". These are all examples of outs where the ball was not in a glove. I agree that it's the least inconsistent, but it's still inconsistent.ImLawBoy wrote: ↑Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:12 amBall in possession, whether in a glove or in hand. That's the least odd exception.El Guapo wrote: ↑Fri Jul 19, 2019 10:05 amYeah, and you can tag someone with just the ball, not a glove.ImLawBoy wrote: ↑Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:58 pmI think the theory behind the dropped third strike rule is that an out must be made with the ball in a glove. If you don't catch the third strike, you haven't completed the out so the batter is entitled to run. At that point to complete the play you need to retire the runner. I don't have a strong opinion on it either way, but there is some logic behind it (even if it's not 100% consistent - foul bunt with two strikes is an out comes to mind).
That's my favorite part of it! I'm still waiting for that elusive 5 strikeout inning!El Guapo wrote:And for that matter it also bothers me that on the rare occasion when the runner makes it to first base on a dropped third strike, it still counts as a strikeout on the record even though the runner is not out.
Another way to put it is - if a swing and miss on a third strike is a strikeout, and you sometimes allow outs when the defensive team does not have the ball, why is a dropped third strike strikeout not automatically an out?