Swimming questions

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

stessier

Swimming questions

Post by stessier »

As I've mentioned elsewhere, I set the following goals: swim 150 miles, swim 150 times, swim 150 hours. At the time I thought the 150 miles would be the hard part, now I realize the 150 times might be the bigger challenge.

Anywho, I'm a completely self taught swimmer and have a few question.

1. What would be some good workouts/plans for increasing my abilities?

This is my third week and right now I am happy just doing freestyle. The first week I just concentrated on being able to do that stroke for an hour. The second week I concentrated on speeding up a bit. This third week I've concentrated on increasing my strokes between breaths. I'm still quite slow - this week I'm doing about 2200 yards in an hour. I'm using a 25 yard pool and don't know how to flip turn - I know that slows me down a bit. Also, I'm not sure of the correct terminology, but my current breathing pattern is 4 strokes, breathe, stroke, breath, repeat. How many strokes is ideal between breaths? Any plans for building up to that would be great. Is there anything I should be thinking about to improve the efficiency of my stroke or kick? Again, self taught, so no idea if I'm doing it right.

2. How much are goggles supposed to fog up?

My goggles are at least 5 years old and I think when I pulled them out of the drawer, I wiped off whatever anti-fog coating there was. I'm very happy with them otherwise - they don't leak and fit well. Would getting a new pair help with fogging? It takes about 5 minutes until it starts and by the end it is so bad that I can barely see the lane marker I'm swimming next to.