Linux makes me feel dumb

For general computer discussion & help, come here

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

ChaoZ

Linux makes me feel dumb

Post by ChaoZ »

I've been using DOS and Windows since the early/mid 1990s and I would like to think I'm quite proficient at it. I can edit the registry, do minor tweaks, change settings etc.

Yesterday I purchased a used netbook with Xandros Linux installed on it. It's basic, has features most people will need (word processor, spreadsheet, Firefox, etc.), but in looking to install other things, it's just making my head explode!

Anybody have a good primer I can take a look at? Otherwise I'm installing Windows on this thing.
RunningMn9

Re: Linux makes me feel dumb

Post by RunningMn9 »

Linux is very hands on. For anything that you want to install, a quick internet search should yield a how-to or an equivalent to get you through it.

They have made a lot of progress in this area with stuff like yum, but I never took the time to really learn how to use it effectively. There are some linux folks around here that might be able to help though.
And in banks across the world
Christians, Moslems, Hindus, Jews
And every other race, creed, colour, tint or hue
Get down on their knees and pray
The raccoon and the groundhog neatly
Make up bags of change
But the monkey in the corner
Well he's slowly drifting out of range
Anonymous Bosch

Post by Anonymous Bosch »

The articles on this site should get you off to a good start.
"There is only one basic human right, the right to do as you damn well please. And with it comes the only basic human duty, the duty to take the consequences." — P. J. O'Rourke
Victoria Raverna

Post by Victoria Raverna »

Get Ubuntu. Installing popular software and auto updating them are much easier on Ubuntu than Windows.:)
RunningMn9

Post by RunningMn9 »

Victoria Raverna wrote:Get Ubuntu. Installing popular software and auto updating them are much easier on Ubuntu than Windows.:)