Amazon has whacked our affiliate account. Hosting Donations/Commitments $2063 of $1920 (Sept 13/18). In Hand $1466 (Lump sum payments minus paypal graft). Paypal Donation Link Here

Is 32 GB RAM enough to future proof me?

For general computer discussion & help, come here

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

Post Reply
User avatar
jztemple2
Posts: 4308
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Florida, USA

Is 32 GB RAM enough to future proof me?

Post by jztemple2 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 1:16 pm

32 GB of RAM may seem like a lot, but that's what's required to play on the largest galaxy size in Galactic Civilizations III. Any reason to need more than that?
"A plan is a list of things that go wrong. I like to keep my lists short. Just be ready." - Rico Rodriguez

User avatar
stessier
Posts: 24284
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:30 pm
Location: SC

Re: Is 32 GB RAM enough to future proof me?

Post by stessier » Thu Jan 31, 2019 1:21 pm

How far into the future do you want to be proofed for?
I require a reminder as to why raining arcane destruction is not an appropriate response to all of life's indignities. - Vaarsuvius
Global Steam Wishmaslist Tracking
Running____2014: 1300.55 miles____2015: 2036.13 miles____2016: 1012.75 miles____2017: 1105.82 miles____2018: 1318.91 miles

User avatar
Blackhawk
Posts: 26536
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: Southwest Indiana
Contact:
Blackhawk’s avatar
Borderlands 2

Re: Is 32 GB RAM enough to future proof me?

Post by Blackhawk » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:10 pm

Gaming rigs are just now making the jump from 8 to 16. 32 is enough for futureproofing your next couple of machines.
[This space left intentionally blank.]

User avatar
Zitterbacke
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:24 pm

Re: Is 32 GB RAM enough to future proof me?

Post by Zitterbacke » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:24 pm

In this German article they recently build a €600 (~$600 after TAX) and tested 8 / 16 / 32GB. Quite an improvement of sometimes more than 10% in FPS for 8 to 16 GB and 2% additionally for 16 to 32. So if it doesn't hurt you to get 32GB, do so. But that would be the first to shape down to 16GB if I had to lower a budget.
Playing suffering BF-V

User avatar
jztemple2
Posts: 4308
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Is 32 GB RAM enough to future proof me?

Post by jztemple2 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:28 pm

stessier wrote:
Thu Jan 31, 2019 1:21 pm
How far into the future do you want to be proofed for?
My current rig is five years old and I will probably be keeping it till the big fall releases, so I would say at least through the summer of 2024.
"A plan is a list of things that go wrong. I like to keep my lists short. Just be ready." - Rico Rodriguez

dobberhd
Posts: 501
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 7:45 am

Re: Is 32 GB RAM enough to future proof me?

Post by dobberhd » Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:35 pm

I put 32 in mine a year or so ago because it was cheap at the time. Comes in handy when hosting an ARK server and playing on the same rig. I've even hosted two servers while playing with no hiccups.

Post Reply