Fundraising complete, next renewal is August 2022. Paypal Donation Links US dollars CDN Dollars

Random monitor power cycle

For general computer discussion & help, come here

Moderators: EvilHomer3k, Bakhtosh

Post Reply

Is this a sign that my computer is dying?

Definitely. Time to upgrade.
0
No votes
Maybe. Perhaps just get a new monitor.
2
50%
Nope. It was totally random and you're fine. Trust me.
2
50%
 
Total votes: 4

User avatar
Smoove_B
Posts: 43523
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 am
Location: Kaer Morhen

Random monitor power cycle

Post by Smoove_B »

I try not to be paranoid, but after 20+ years of owning a computer, my gut is telling me this is a sign of bigger things to come.

While working last night (screen capturing a lecture) my monitor randomly power cycled - powered down and then came back. In the 4+ years I've owned my computer, that's never happened (monitor is slightly older). I had something very similar happen with my last computer and it was (I think) related to the video card not getting enough power. However, it was happening in games and would crash to desktop. When this happened, there was no change - it was like I powered it off and then back on (Powerpoint and the screen capture software was still running). No errors in Win10 reported (like a display driver crash); everything is updated/current (because that's how I roll).

After it happened I ran a demanding video game (Max Payne 3) to stress the system and see if there were any problems; there were none.

I opened the case, cleaned out some dust and it's been running (idle/desktop) all morning without any problems.

What say you?
User avatar
coopasonic
Posts: 17379
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 11:43 pm
Location: Dallas-ish
coopasonic’s avatar
Loading…

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by coopasonic »

If it happens more often, try replacing the cable first. Cheapest potential solution. Alternatively, buy a new killer PC and a huge 4k monitor, just to be safe.
-Coop
Black Lives Matter
User avatar
Anonymous Bosch
Posts: 8535
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: Northern California [originally from the UK]

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Anonymous Bosch »

Smoove_B wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 1:36 pm I try not to be paranoid, but after 20+ years of owning a computer, my gut is telling me this is a sign of bigger things to come.

While working last night (screen capturing a lecture) my monitor randomly power cycled - powered down and then came back. In the 4+ years I've owned my computer, that's never happened (monitor is slightly older). I had something very similar happen with my last computer and it was (I think) related to the video card not getting enough power. However, it was happening in games and would crash to desktop. When this happened, there was no change - it was like I powered it off and then back on (Powerpoint and the screen capture software was still running). No errors in Win10 reported (like a display driver crash); everything is updated/current (because that's how I roll).

After it happened I ran a demanding video game (Max Payne 3) to stress the system and see if there were any problems; there were none.

I opened the case, cleaned out some dust and it's been running (idle/desktop) all morning without any problems.

What say you?
What do you have it plugged into? If it's just connected to a regular power strip or plugged directly into a power outlet, it may behoove you to use a decent Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) with automatic voltage regulation instead.
"Good intentions will always be pleaded for every assumption of authority. It is hardly too strong to say that the Constitution was made to guard the people against the dangers of good intentions. There are men in all ages who mean to govern well, but they mean to govern. They promise to be good masters, but they mean to be masters." -- Daniel Webster
User avatar
Isgrimnur
Posts: 67536
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Chookity pok
Contact:
Isgrimnur’s avatar
Loading…

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Isgrimnur »

coopasonic wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:39 pm If it happens more often, try replacing the cable first. Cheapest potential solution. Alternatively, buy a new killer PC and a huge 4k monitor, just to be safe.
:text-+1:
Black lives matter
User avatar
Smoove_B
Posts: 43523
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 am
Location: Kaer Morhen

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Smoove_B »

coopasonic wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:39 pm If it happens more often, try replacing the cable first. Cheapest potential solution.
Good idea. I'm pretty sure I have quite a few cables sitting around so that won't be an issue.
Alternatively, buy a new killer PC and a huge 4k monitor, just to be safe.
I know, right? :D
User avatar
Smoove_B
Posts: 43523
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 am
Location: Kaer Morhen

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Smoove_B »

Anonymous Bosch wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:42 pmWhat do you have it plugged into? If it's just connected to a regular power strip or plugged directly into a power outlet, it may behoove you to use a decent Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) with automatic voltage regulation instead.
It is in a power strip (Belkin) but I hadn't thought about a UPS (which I should probably do anyway). Good idea.
User avatar
Kasey Chang
Posts: 18649
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Kasey Chang »

There's a difference between a power strip (no protection) vs. a surge protector (over-volt protection)... vs a UPS (full power conditioning AND backup power).
My game FAQs | Join Massdrop and see what sort of deals they have! | Playing: ADR1FT, Frontier Pilot Simulator
User avatar
Smoove_B
Posts: 43523
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 am
Location: Kaer Morhen

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Smoove_B »

Just to confirm, it's a power strip with surge protection. It's not a UPS.
User avatar
gilraen
Posts: 3005
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: Broomfield, CO

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by gilraen »

Does your monitor have any lit buttons, that would stay lit but just change color, based on whether the computer was on or off? (like a green power button that turns red or orange). Basically if the monitor loses power, then all lights would go off. If it's just losing the signal from the video card, then presumably the button color would change, but it would still be lit.
User avatar
Smoove_B
Posts: 43523
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 am
Location: Kaer Morhen

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Smoove_B »

It does. It went from blue light (power) to amber light (plugged in, but off). That's why I thought it might be a video card signal issue and not the monitor. But it was so weird, I really didn't know what to make of it.

I'm definitely thinking about a new monitor. I' don't need anything crazy (current is 21.5" running at 1900 x 1080) because my video card is the bottleneck here (NVIDIA 970).
User avatar
LordMortis
Posts: 63538
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:26 pm

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by LordMortis »

How is your computer connected to your monitor?

I've seen too many cases of USBC3 and/or Display Port connected monitors cutting signals by either power savings or driver update checks.
User avatar
Smoove_B
Posts: 43523
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 12:58 am
Location: Kaer Morhen

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Smoove_B »

DVI cable.
User avatar
hitbyambulance
Posts: 7414
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Map Ref 47.6°N 122.35°W
Contact:
Battlefinch’s avatar
Loading…

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by hitbyambulance »

Kasey Chang wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 3:11 pm There's a difference between a power strip (no protection) vs. a surge protector (over-volt protection)... vs a UPS (full power conditioning AND backup power).
my computer is routed through a line conditioner (not a power strip or UPS) my dad made for his work at Control Data back in the 80s
Smoove_B wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 4:14 pmDVI cable.
are the fastener screws locked in tight? also third the suggestion of trying a different DVI cable.
User avatar
Kasey Chang
Posts: 18649
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Kasey Chang »

That does sound like a dying mon then.

I had a VERY old 28-inch monitor from way back way like that. Even though it's that large, it was only 1280x1024, from Soyo, if anyone remembers that brand. :D Video started to flicker every once in a while. Then more often. Then one day it just died altogether. It's an LCD too.
My game FAQs | Join Massdrop and see what sort of deals they have! | Playing: ADR1FT, Frontier Pilot Simulator
User avatar
LordMortis
Posts: 63538
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:26 pm

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by LordMortis »

Smoove_B wrote: Wed Sep 30, 2020 4:14 pmDVI cable.
Is there another monitor in the house to swap with then? My first suspicion would be dying monitor unless something was moved or jostled recently, then it would be loose cable.
User avatar
Daehawk
Posts: 48836
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:11 am
daehawk’s avatar
Loading…

Re: Random monitor power cycle

Post by Daehawk »

*unplugs monitor randomly 3 or 4 times*
*Posts on OO about monitor going on and off randomly 3 or 4 times*
*Asks "I should get a bigger better monitor right?" on OO*
*Takes results to wife for proof*

:)
https://www.gofundme.com/please-help-di ... -wife-died ....Help for me to take care of stuff . Wife died Jan 3 2019 after 31 years. My soulmate.
---------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.
GroovAtroN, stop asking
I guess Ray Butts has ate his last pancake.
http://steamcommunity.com/id/daehawk
Post Reply