Padding resumes

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

The Mad Hatter

Padding resumes

Post by The Mad Hatter »

I'm wondering if anyone has done this. My resume is pretty honest but I've been unemployed for nine months now, which is long enough to make it even less likely that I'll find something new. I'm thinking of adding a short term web application testing contract that would be difficult to trace, maybe using one of those tools a monkey could use but which I have no real experience with.

I know it's dishonest, but the requirements for new positions are so precise and I'm getting a little desperate here.
In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act.
- George Orwell
dedewhale

Post by dedewhale »

I interview a lot of people being in sales and I see it alot.. There is a big distinction between talking up (enriching) and making crap up.

Be careful doing this but it is OK to sell what you have done in the past with some colorful non measurable adjectives.

Do not exaggerate on measurable things and things people can test or clearly evaluate. Dont say "Profficient knowledge of J++" if someone is looking for a Java guru. But you can beef up the secondary skills for that job that may relate. "Exibited and recognized for ability to learn object based programming languages (like visual basic) by employer."

Just my thoughts
Rip

Re: Padding resumes

Post by Rip »

The Mad Hatter wrote:I'm wondering if anyone has done this. My resume is pretty honest but I've been unemployed for nine months now, which is long enough to make it even less likely that I'll find something new. I'm thinking of adding a short term web application testing contract that would be difficult to trace, maybe using one of those tools a monkey could use but which I have no real experience with.

I know it's dishonest, but the requirements for new positions are so precise and I'm getting a little desperate here.