[Mechwarrior 5] Joining the party late...

If it's a video game it goes here.

Moderators: LawBeefaroni, Arcanis, $iljanus

Kasey Chang

[Mechwarrior 5] Joining the party late...

Post by Kasey Chang »

MW5: Mercenaries came out a year ago, and since then there were two DLCs that added hero mechs as well as another extended campaign that had you join the Kestrel Lancers as an aux unit in a very tough campaign. Was watching the three streamers (Baradul, NoGutsNoGalaxy, and TTB) playing them and reminded me how much I miss these games. So when Fanatical had the Jumpship Edition (i.e. gold edition, base + both DLCs) for $36, and I found a $3 coupon code, I kinda HAD to get it, as I know it won't go any lower for MONTHS. And there's a TON of mod support for the game.

I'm just starting out in the scripted campaign (there's also a mostly unscripted "career" mode) which is organized similar to the Battletech game. The different is MW is an action game and BT is a turn-based game. However, they share a LOT of similarities. Typical in Battletech, you suffered some sort of great betrayal, great sacrifice was made to make sure you survive, and you start from almost nothing, rebuild your side, and take revenge upon your enemies. MW4 was like this, Battletech was like this, and MW5 continues the tradition. :D

Right now I do have a couple mods loaded, but they are not rebalance mods or mods that added like couple dozen "lore variants" of the mechs. There are QoL mods, like better zoom (4x instead of anemic 2x) but also added one extra mech and one extra pilot to help you fulfill the "145 ton drop limit" missions you encounter afterwards, as you can't find another pilot for a long while, and when your biggest mech is 50 ton Centurion, you really need 4 mechs and 3 pilots, the more mechs and pilots the merrier.