Fundraising complete, next renewal is August 2022. Paypal Donation Links US dollars CDN Dollars

Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

For general computer discussion & help, come here

Moderators: EvilHomer3k, Bakhtosh

Post Reply
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

Sometime this year I plan on upgrading my motherboard/CPU. Pretty much everything else can stay. Since it's an old chipset just updating the CPU won't work. My question is since it's a prebuilt am I screwed on the windows install? Do I need to reinstall? Should I just buy a license for the first time in my lifetime? I mean hell I don't even remember the last time I installed Windows. :lol:
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Isgrimnur
Posts: 72999
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Chookity pok
Contact:

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Isgrimnur »

Octavious wrote: Thu Jan 06, 2022 6:01 pm it's a prebuilt
Model number / specs?

Image
Black Lives Matter

10% real fruit juice, motherfuckers!!
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

I have an Ibuypower with Windows 10, I don't think I have an actual license anywhere, but will have to double check. It's I7 7700 so there's really no practical way to update the CPU without replacing the motherboard as well. There just isn't anything much faster that would be compatible. I have somehow gotten a 3070 and now instead of my video card being a bottleneck it's now my CPU. Life is hard.
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Anonymous Bosch
Posts: 9547
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 6:09 pm
Location: Northern California [originally from the UK]

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Anonymous Bosch »

Octavious wrote: Thu Jan 06, 2022 6:09 pm I have an Ibuypower with Windows 10, I don't think I have an actual license anywhere, but will have to double check.
FWIW, you can easily display your Windows 10 OEM Product Key by simply entering the following in a Command Prompt:

Code: Select all

wmic path softwarelicensingservice get OA3xOriginalProductKey
This will display your Windows Product Key, which you can then you copy & paste into a text file as a back-up.
"Good intentions will always be pleaded for every assumption of authority. It is hardly too strong to say that the Constitution was made to guard the people against the dangers of good intentions. There are men in all ages who mean to govern well, but they mean to govern. They promise to be good masters, but they mean to be masters." -- Daniel Webster
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

Ah nice. I have gotten so lazy that I don't know how to manage windows anymore. :)
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Daehawk
Posts: 54628
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:11 am

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Daehawk »

Keep in mind its usually the trifecta of mobo/cpu/ram.
--------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.
I guess Ray Butts has ate his last pancake.
http://steamcommunity.com/id/daehawk
User avatar
Victoria Raverna
Posts: 4049
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Jakarta

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Victoria Raverna »

It is possible that you need a new Windows license since OEM license is tied to the PC hardware. If you replace CPU+MB, it'll probably detect you have a different PC and need a new license.

Only retail license can be transfered.

Another thing about the key is that if you link Windows 10 to your Microsoft account, the key will be stored in your account. You don't need to reenter the key if you reinstall, you just need to login using your Microsoft account, but this only work if the hardware doesn't change if you have OEM license.
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

Eh I guess it wouldn't be the end of the world if I had to get a Windows 11 license. It's going to be a bit before I end up doing the upgrade. Essentially I bought my daughter a new computer for her BD and will be swapping my 1070ti with the 3070 as she pretty much plays Minecraft and other much less intensive games. She uses it more for her insane drawing skills and chatting with her friends. So win win..
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

I checked and I have a digital license attached to my Microsoft account. So yay...
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

This is exactly what I have. From what I can see there's really nothing worth upgrading to without just getting a new motherboard.

MB
ASUS H110M-PLUS

CPU
I7 7700

Video Card (Until the new one)
1070TI
Last edited by Octavious on Fri Jan 07, 2022 1:25 am, edited 2 times in total.
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Isgrimnur
Posts: 72999
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Chookity pok
Contact:

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Isgrimnur »

Octavious wrote:MB
ASUS H110M-PLUS
Form Factor: Micro ATX

Any motherboard you consider that matches Micro ATX should be fine.

If you have the case details, we can look and see if they support bigger ones.
Black Lives Matter

10% real fruit juice, motherfuckers!!
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

I'd just stick with the micro unless there's a downside. I'm only going to slap ram and the video card in so I shouldn't need anything else.

Example of what I would do...
I5-11600K 250.00
+
MSI MAG B560M 179.99 (This was just an example. I'm going to look deeper later when I have money)
+
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition CPU Air Coolor 43.99
+
DDR4-3200 Corsair Vengeance 75

Would be like 550 bucks. Not bad. The power supply is a EVGA 700W Bronze that I recently replaced.
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

I ended up cancelling the order for the computer for now. When I really thought about it 1,800 for what I was getting just seems nuts. The same thing was like 1300 in the beginning of last year. Meh...

This is what I was going to get.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/hp-omen-ga ... Id=6487502

Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
User avatar
Rumpy
Posts: 10618
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Rumpy »

I'm in a similar situation. Both my CPU and Processor are so old that I'd have to upgrade everything and Covid hasn't made it any easier. The newest thing in my PC right now is the video card, everything else is causing a bottleneck.
PC:
Intel DH55PJ
Intel i5 660
8GB RAM
Asus ROG 4GB 1050Ti
User avatar
naednek
Posts: 9973
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 9:23 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by naednek »

Octavious wrote: Fri Jan 07, 2022 9:11 am I ended up cancelling the order for the computer for now. When I really thought about it 1,800 for what I was getting just seems nuts. The same thing was like 1300 in the beginning of last year. Meh...

This is what I was going to get.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/hp-omen-ga ... Id=6487502
well i don't think you'll see the prices fall much (unless a sale) i think this is the new normal even when supply chains are fixed.
hepcat - "I agree with Naednek"
User avatar
Octavious
Posts: 18573
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 2:50 pm

Re: Replacing Motherboard/CPU....

Post by Octavious »

Ya I'm a bit worried about how my taxes will shake out as the way they did the child tax credit may screw me. And I have to finish a mortgage refinance that I never get time to do. I'll probably look again next month and hope it doesn't go up even more. :P They do 12 months financing, but honestly I'm sick of having a balance at Best Buy. I just want to pay things off.
Capitalism tries for a delicate balance: It attempts to work things out so that everyone gets just enough stuff to keep them from getting violent and trying to take other people’s stuff.

Shameless plug for my website: www.nettphoto.com
Post Reply