Video editing tools

For general computer discussion & help, come here

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

Moliere

Video editing tools

Post by Moliere »

I have an idea for a project that requires some software recommendations. I want to be able to watch a DVD on my computer screen and provide voice over commentary. That would seem to require some kind of screen capture and video/audio editing tools. Any suggestions for free or inexpensive solutions?
"The world is suffering more today from the good people who want to mind other men's business than it is from the bad people who are willing to let everybody look after their own individual affairs." - Clarence Darrow
gameoverman

Re: Video editing tools

Post by gameoverman »

OBS is what I use. i'm no expert at this sort of thing and yet it was easy enough for me to have up and running in no time. One thing I've noticed, it can have problems capturing windows that are hardware accelerated, depending on what mode you use. For example, if I'm capturing a browser window in window capture mode, that browser can't be using hardware acceleration. I've never tried capturing a DVD player window though, so I don't know if it'll happen there too.
Smoove_B

Post by Smoove_B »

I was going to recommend what I use (Camtasia) because it's quite simple to understand and works great, but apparently it doesn't fit with your free/inexpensive request. I was given a copy so I had no idea how much it costs. I guess if you can find a copy cheap, I can verify it's a great tool. Probably not very helpful...sorry. :|
Maybe next year, maybe no go
Moliere

Post by Moliere »

I've heard these others mentioned:
Screenflow
Screencastomatic
Adobe Creative Cloud

One issue seems to be things like Screenflow that is designed for Mac and I am a Windows only user. A monthly payment from Adobe would only work if I was testing the software before buying.