I am the Grinch

Everything else!

Moderators: Bakhtosh, EvilHomer3k

Pointer

I am the Grinch

Post by Pointer »

Hi guys!

So I am not really feeling the christmas spirit at all. I work in retail and for the past two months (I kid you not) we have been selling christmas decorations and gifts. For the past month I have been forced to listen to christmas tunes playing. For the past two weeks I have had to put up with hordes of people in store with tons of work to do and no room to do it (to be fair I love the store being busy as it means more money in the tills which means a nice big bonus for me in May).

On top of christmas overload my fiancee and I are broke and not doing the whole gift thing this year except with my immediate family who are fantastic and who we are spending christmas with and with her little niece and nephew who are too cute not to buy stuff for.

On top of that I am just feeling a bit crap recently. Maybe it is S.A.D or whatever the heck they call it.

So I am feeling a bit down in the dumps and really want to treat my fiancee to a few gifts. I will pick up a few things from work relatively cheap but would love to hear if you guys have any great (CHEAP) gift ideas. Could be homemade, could be anything at all really to put a smile on her face.

Pointer
none

Post by none »

do you play any musical instruments? a recording of yourself playing and singing a variety of songs is always a great cheap gift.

how about making a donation to Heifer International on her behalf? i donated a half dozen rabbits to a family in zimbabwe last christmas on behalf of my girlfriend and it felt great and was much appreciated.

how about cooking? any good at cooking? a nice meal followed by the presentation of the above two gifts sounds like it might be a good idea.

good luck to you. :)
Jeff V

Post by Jeff V »

I usually get into the Xmas mood around mid-January, when we now get the sort of snow that we had by mid-November when I was a kid.